Oh, OK, TKO, but WTF is an RSF?

Here we go... so a “TKO”, technical knockout, is basically awarded anytime a ref deems a fighter is unable to continue without being counted out. We could just call it a regular Knockout (KO) since, for all intents and purposes, the implication is the knockout is inevitable. In a way, the TKO seems less than a KO, but ultimately they are equal. The TKO just shows that boxing is still a civilized sport.

 

Besides the Technical Draw and the Unanimous Draw, you can also get the more frustrating Draws: the Majority Draw and the Split Draw! ARRRRRGH!! Sometimes boxing judges forget to pay attention and just scribble anything down on their cards (a theory), that’s when you get these annoying Draws.

 

TKOs can also be awarded because of a Doctor’s Stoppage (an injury from a blow is too much for the fight to continue), Corner Stoppage (when the corner decides it is better for the fighter not to continue) and, in some contests, Multiple Knockdowns (by rule, when a fighter has been down on the canvas too many times in one round).

In British bouts, they call TKOs “Retired” or “RSF”, meaning the referee stopped the fight. So literal are those brits. 

In the US and elsewhere, “RTD” or “Retired” means the fight has been stopped between rounds either because the referee has determined the fighter can’t continue or the fighter themselves chooses not to continue. You can tell when the outcome is such because one of the fighters will be celebrating, the other protesting and the crowd will be booing!

Now we go to the judges. If these words do not put a knot in your stomach you’re probably not a real boxing fan. Okay, so you know what a Unanimous Decision (UD) is... a Split Decision (SD) is simply a 2 - 1 score; and a Majority Decision (MD) is when two judges score it for one fighter and the third calls it a draw (oh yes, the Draws!). 

A fight can be stopped due to an injury from an unintentional foul. If this happens early in the fight it is called either a No Contest (NC), a Technical Draw (TD) or No Decision (ND). If it happens beyond the fourth round (or whatever round is determined by the Commission before the fight) a Technical Decision is awarded to whomever is ahead in points on the judges card. If the score is tied at the stoppage then it is a Technical Draw.

That’s all clear so far, right?

And so now the Draws. Usually a very unsatisfying result for a fight, although at times, when a fight is particularly good and close, a Draw (D) is the only fair outcome. Besides the Technical Draw, which we explained, and the regular kind of Draw, the Unanimous Draw, you can also get the more frustrating Draws: the Majority Draw and the Split Draw! ARRRRRGH!! Sometimes boxing judges forget to pay attention and just scribble anything down on their cards (a theory), that’s when you get these annoying Draws. One is when two judges score it even and the third scores it for one of the fighters (Majority), and the other (Split) is when two judges score it for each of the fighters, while the third judge scores it even. What the hell?!

The final ruling we have to cover is a little something called a Disqualification (DQ). These kind of fights can make any casual fan put their fist through a wall! When one (or both) fighters is repeatedly and/or intentionally fouling a DQ can be called. The fouls could be headbutts, low blows, biting, hair pulling, et cetera! In this case the disqualified fighter scores a loss no matter what round it occurs. If both fighters are disqualified for fouls it is a Double Disqualification, which could actually be an entertaining bout! haha

So now you know.

Posted on July 21, 2014 .